Crochet Rattle Bunny

The other evening while I was looking for something cute and quick to crochet I came across this adorable “Rattle Bunny” made by the talented Lucia from Lanukas. Now, although Lucia’s blog is written in Spanish, she does provide English instructions to some of her patterns. Like this one!

Crochet Rattle Bunny

RattleBunny
Here’s mine. :) I am very happy with how it turned out!

My Notes

  • Although the above pattern calls for a size E hook (3.5mm), I used a size H hook (5.00mm).
  • For color A I used white yarn (Caron Simply Soft) and for color B I used pink (Caron Simply Soft in Watermelon).
  • For the stuffing I used some regular pollyfill.
  • I used black yarn for the eyes and nose; the white spot around the right eye is a piece of felt.
  • The required stitches are very simple. However, if you are just beginning to crochet I recommend heading over to YouTube and watching some how-to videos. Here are some good ones: How to single crochetHow to slip stitchHow to decreaseChanging colors in crochet. Also, here is a wonderful magic circle tutorial.
  • In the pattern section for the legs, if you look at R5 – R16 you’ll see it says “24 sc in each st around”. This confused me; but after I thought about it for a bit, I realized that it meant 1 single crochet in each of the 24 stitches around.
  • Speaking of confusing, when you reach the beginning of the body section you’ll be told to join the two legs together with a slip stitch… I spent a good half hour trying to figure this out on my own but all I achieved was a headache. At last, I decided to take my own advice and visit YouTube where I found THE PERFECT TUTORIAL! I followed the teacher’s instructions exactly as she says; then, where she stops crocheting, I kept going until I reached the stitch marker again. I then returned to the bunny’s pattern where it says to change to color B.
  • I did the eyes and nose right after R37, before I stuffed the legs and body.
  • I also made a pom pom tail using white and pink yarn which I attached to the bunny at the same time as the eyes and nose. How to make yarn pom poms.
  • Lastly, I attached the ears using the whipstitch.

RattleBunny2

RattleBunny3

4 thoughts on “Crochet Rattle Bunny

Feel free to comment! :)

