Studio Ami’s Micropig

Today I thought I’d share the pattern for the little pig that I crocheted for my mom. The pattern is from Studio Ami and is called the Micropig. Click here to go directly to the pattern.

Here is my finished piggy.

She was very easy to make, requiring only simple stitches, materials, and  techniques. I used a 5.00mm crochet hook, peach colored yarn, some Polyfill stuffing, a small piece of white felt, some dark embroidery thread, hot glue, a yarn needle, and a stitch marker. I also used white and mint colored yarn for the bow, and brown yarn for the eyes.

Usually, when making amigurumi, the patterns call for safety eyes or buttons. However, since I did not have either on hand, I decided to try something different. I followed this tutorial on how to make french knots which I then used for the eyes. (You have to add the french knot eyes before you stuff or close up the body, of course.) The little bow is also a touch that I added myself using this other YouTube tutorial.

The last change I made was the pig’s tail. I did not follow the directions provided in the Micropig pattern, but instead followed those given by Stephanie from All About Ami who had also made a pig. Stephanie’s directions are as follows;

“Ch 5.  3 sc in 2nd ch from hook and in each chain across (12 sc).  Fasten off and leave long end to attach tail to bottom-back of pig.”

Voilà! A piggy tail.

I always found attaching amigurumi limbs to be a pain. However, after finding out how to do a whipstitch, I am no longer stressed out by it. The author of Freshstitches says, “So, in this post, I’ll show you how to attach limbs easily and evenly… taking all the stress out of sewing. The trick to easy attaching is planning out your placement ahead of time. It’s a piece of cake after that!” I completely agree! If you’d like to learn how to do a whipstitch click here.

So that’s it! The first written pattern I’ve ever done. She turned out pretty cute, I think. 😊 One other thing, heathergreg2015 asked, “What tea goes best with crocheting?” What a great question! I like a nice cup of black tea with mint while I crochet. It sets a lovely calming mood.

Bye for now!

2 thoughts on “Studio Ami’s Micropig

  1. My mum loves pigs! She have an entire bookshelf devoted to pig figurines, and I’ve been considering making her one for Mother’s Day. This looks like a great pattern; can I just ask how big the pig is roughly? Cheers :)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Anita Jayne. :) The finished pig is quite little, about the size of a tennis ball. I inserted a new photo of the pig sitting in my hand, if you want to check it out. Hopefully it will help you determine the size. :)
      My mom loves pigs too! :)

      Liked by 1 person

Feel free to comment! :)

