A Word About Crochet

When I began crocheting, I was surprised at how much I enjoyed it. It’s true that, visually, it seems a rather tedious process. However, there is something very relaxing and satisfying to crocheting that I have only found in a few activities. Much like drawing or any hands-on crafty thing, it takes time and patience that soon rewards you with your very own handmade treasure. I love to watch my projects begin to take form; each stitch adding shape and size, and buttons and thread adding lovely embellishments. Scarves, hats, blankets, and stuffed dolls are but a few of the many possible goodies you can crochet.

Amigurumi (the Japanese art of knitting or crocheting stuffed animals and creatures) is my favorite to crochet and there are so many beautiful patterns! It’s wonderful how many people share their creations for free (I thank all who do so, for I am not at all skilled enough to come up with my own patterns). In fact, my first attempt at reading a written pattern was a couple of months ago. It was a little amigurumi pig that I gave to my wonderful mother. It was as simple as they come but still had me frowning, unraveling, and scratching my head. However, despite my few difficulties, I triumphed and presented the finished piggy to my mom. I am happy to say that her meager gift is now sitting atop her dresser. 😁

Before that, I watched YouTube “crochet along videos” until I felt comfortable trying a written pattern. The videos have helped me learn the crochet terms and lingo while also providing me with visual clarity. Click here for the first video I watched which taught me how to crochet an amigurumi ball. (Click here for the last part of the tutorial.) This is a very helpful tutorial for beginners. It teaches you how to crochet “in the round” which is how amigurumi is made.

You can also find crochet cheat sheets explaining the abbreviations used in written patterns.

To begin crocheting, there are only a few essential tools that are needed:

  1. crochet hooks (size H/8, 5.00MM is the most commonly used)
  2. yarn
  3. stitch markers (paperclips work well)
  4. a yarn needle
  5. scissors

To my fellow beginner crocheters out there, don’t worry if you hit a couple of speed bumps. I almost stopped trying to learn because I simply couldn’t figure out the directions in my crochet booklet. However, after finding and watching some well made crochet along videos, I caught on swiftly. I can now read written patterns (simple ones, mind you) and understand my now helpful booklet.

Goodbye for now! ❤

4 thoughts on “A Word About Crochet

Feel free to comment! :)

